Notes From Nature Talk

Date page for Cal Bug

• Dragonwalker by Dragonwalker

This is more of a heads up that may be able to be fixed with code.
    I am pretty new to this so I hope that the errors are not too great, but when I enter the date collected, I type the day which brings up the date quickly and easily. Then I move to the year box an do the same rather than scrolling through the dates. This also works for the country by just typing United S very quickly and as long as you have not had the mouse pointer over the box at the time it accepts it.
    The issue was I went back to the date a few times and all the fields were blank and I would have to refill, did it carefully but still found that it was cleared if I went 'back'. I assumed that this must be a glitch so I would make sure I could see all the fields filled, click OK and then not go back again. About 10 or so records later I thought I had made a mistake with the day so backed up and there were all the date fields still full.

What I think may have happened is the year did not stick those other times and therefore somehow made the date blank, however I got no warning like you do if you have not filled out the day or month.

I am a little worried that the dates on some of mine have therefore not registered and am just using the dropdown box normally to ensure that it is now (but this is tedious).

I think if the technical department could look into this and maybe ensure that if the year field has not registered properly there will either be a warning then, or at the end when you complete the record (as it does if you leave a collectors name out).

Thanks

Posted

• bumishness by bumishness admin

Definitely incorrect behavior if the interface isn't saving the date for you!