Notes From Nature Talk

CalBug App - Form Improvement Suggestions (1-7)

• Eddie_Dunbar by Eddie_Dunbar

CalBug Team -

My day job is as an app administrator. I have 7 suggestions that will improve user acceptance of the CalBug app.

1 Form Fields - All fields should be presented at once. Benefit: This will eliminate 9 clicks.

2 Country Selection - Primary countries should either 1) have a checkbox, or 2) a shorter selection dropdown. Benefit: This will reduce reading/scanning time for the user.

3 Date Entry #1 of 3- Years should not be presented non-linearly. Navigating linearly over 5-6 decades takes too much time to NAVIGATE and requires too much dexterity and deliberation. Benefit: The user will work more quickly.

4 Date Entry #2 of 3- Roman Numeral Date should accompany Month (e.g., 09-September should be written as IX-09-September). This will reduce the making the user have to TRANSLATE the date from Roman numeral to Standard English standard. Benefit: The user can work more quickly and accurately.

5 Date Entry #3 of 3 - Dates to be selected should be placed into a table with a column each for Roman numeral, month number and month name. This will reduce the time users have to SCAN through dates. See image (attached) for suggested alignment/format. Benefit: The user can work more quickly and accurately.

6 Notes - Specimen #1 was not in Iguala, but 23 km W of Iguala. There should be at least 64 characters dedicated to users notes. Benefit: The location data on the label will not lose its precision in the transcription.

7 Elevation Entry - This should be 2 fields instead of one. Create a (required) checkbox - one that is metric and one that is American - for easier conversion later. Benefit: Metric data will be complete and easy to convert.

Keep up the good work.

Eddie DunbarGraphical explanation of Recommended Fix #5

Posted

• ljgross by ljgross scientist