Notes From Nature Talk

Request for guidelines on what issues to report and where to locate detailed instructions/tips

• ides98 by ides98

I am new to Notes from Nature and have a few generic questions:

1. What types of bugs/issues should (or the admins want) reported? I have noticed items like illegible writing, two different tags within one sample, etc. Any guidelines on what to report is appreciated.

2. Are there more detailed instructions/tips for each collection? I noticed that some collections have much more detail in the way of describing each field and providing helpful hints. I didn't know if this information is published somewhere collectively and/or if each collection wants feedback on what information would make it easier to transcribe tags.

Thank you in advance for the help!

Posted

• am.zooni by am.zooni

Hello @ides98. Welcome aboard!

I've only worked on the Herbarium collections here at NfN, so I don't have much to offer on the others, but for Herbarium transcribing, check out the FAQ here: http://blog.notesfromnature.org/2015/04/14/updated-faq-and-useful-tools-herbarium-interface/

This 'useful tips' discussion thread has links to various helpful websites: http://talk.notesfromnature.org/#/boards/BNN0000001/discussions/DNN00001vl Many are plant-specific but some are more widely useful for things like location searches.

As far as bugs go, do report any problems you have with the user interface - anything from "I can't log in today" to "the year on the label is older than the choice available in the selection list".